690 Student-Athletes Named To Fall 2016 MASCAC All-Academic Team

690 Student-Athletes Named To Fall 2016 MASCAC All-Academic Team

Westfield, Mass. — A total of 690 student-athletes have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference with selection to the league’s Fall 2016 All-Academic Team that was released earlier today by Commissioner Angela Baumann.

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the Fall 2016 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Fall All-Academic Team. 

Westfield State University placed the most student-athletes on the Fall 2016 MASCAC All-Academic Team with 138 total, while Worcester State University (112), Bridgewater State University (96), Fitchburg State University (63) and Massachusetts Maritime Academy (62) followed.  

“It is a great honor to recognize the student-athletes on the 2016 MASCAC Fall All-Academic Team,” Commissioner Baumann said. “Academic success is the cornerstone of not only the Division III philosophy but also the MASCAC. I am proud of all the student-athletes who achieved academic honors while continuing to excel in their sport.”

The complete list of honorees by institution can be found here. 

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation’s oldest Division III men’s and women’s playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom.  MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University.  Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men’s ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as a football affiliate member in 2013.