Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Announces the 2014 Football All-Conference and Sportsmanship Teams

Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Announces the 2014   Football All-Conference and Sportsmanship Teams

Football All-Conference Release

Westfield, Mass. — Matthew Green of Bridgewater State and Kevin Donahue of Framingham State are the 2014 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year award winners and headline the 2014 MASCAC All-Conference teams as voted on by the coaches from around the league.

The senior wide receiver from Stoughton, Mass. had a strong year for the Bears as the league leader in receiving yards per game with 112.5, 900 total receiving yards and seven touchdowns. His best game of the year came in the win over Westfield State where Green finished with 216 yards on eight receptions and three touchdowns.

Helping the Rams to their second-straight MASCAC regular season title, Donahue led the team with 82 total tackles, including a conference-best 66 solo tackles. The senior from Norfolk, Mass. also finished with four sacks and 9.5 tackles for a loss on the year. 

Receiving the very first MASCAC Offensive Lineman of the Year accolade is Nick Stanfield of Framingham State. The junior from Everett, Mass. helped to lead a Rams offense that averaged 412 yards of total offense and 33.9 points per game to go along with 48 touchdowns. 

The 2014 Offensive Rookie of the Year honors go to Travis Bassett of Bridgewater State. The freshman from Littleton, Mass. was second for the Bears behind Green with 528 receiving yards with 38 receptions and three touchdowns in his freshman campaign. 

Joining teammate Donahue as a defensive honoree, Svenn Jacobson of Framingham State has earned the 2014 MASCAC Defensive Rookie of the Year award. The freshman linebacker from Cumberland, Maine was second on the team with 49 total tackles (35 solo) while adding three interceptions, 4.5 tackles for a loss and two sacks.

After leading the Rams to the 2014 MASCAC regular season championship, Tom Kelley has been named the Champion’s Choice Coach of the Year by his peers.

This year for the first time, the conference is awarding a student-athlete from each institution in all of the participating sports and a coach selected by their peers to the MASCAC Sportsmanship Team. Those selected embody good sportsmanship on and off the field. The 2014 Football Sportsmanship Team recognizes Joseph Hak of Bridgewater State, James Veradt of Fitchburg State, Matt Silva of Framingham State, John Trudel of Massachusetts Maritime, Sam Bellamy of Plymouth State, Nils Swenson of UMass Dartmouth, Connor Falaguerra of Western Connecticut State, Scotty Nye of Westfield State and Teddy Ferreira of Worcester State. Paul Castonia of Plymouth State was named the 2014 Football Sportsmanship Coach of the Year by his peers. 

Follow the MASCAC on FacebookTwitter and Instagram